BROOKINGS COUNTY ZONING
BROOKINGS CITY & COUNTY GOVERNMENT CENTER

605-696-8350 @

520 3 St, Suite 200 @

zoning@brookingscountysd.gov

LAKE PARK BUILDING PERMITS

BUILDING CODE

REQUIRED FOR:

ERECTING A NEW STRUCTURE

2015 IRC & 20151BC

OR BUILDING. For example, a
home, garage, shed

¢ MOVING A STRUCTURE. For o
example, moving a residence or
any other building onto another
site.

¢ REMODELING A STRUCTURE.
For example, changes in the o
building, adding a room, or
creating a different style of roof.

REQUIRED SETBACKS FOR
LAKEFRONT:
LoT SIZE — 20,000 sQ. FT.
MIN SHORELINE — 75’
MIN ROAD FRONTAGE — 50’
MIN FRONT YARD — 25’
MIN SIDE YARD — 8’
LAKE SIDE — 75’
REQUIRED SETBACKS FOR NON-
LAKEFRONT:

e Lot SIizE — 20,000 sQ. FT.
NOT REQUIRED FOR: e MIN LOT WIDTH — 60’
¢ MIN FRONT YARD — 50’
e MIN SIDE YARD — 8’

e MIN REAR YARD — 50’
DRAINAGE REQUIREMENTS:

¢ BUILDINGS LESS THAN 120
SQUARE FEET

e MINOR REPAIRS

HOUSEHOLD SEPTIC SYSTEMS

ANY ALTERATON OF NATURAL
DRAINAGE PATTERN ONTO AN
ADJOINING PROPERTY WITHOUT

KINGBROOK RURAL WATER SYSTEM
REQUIREMENTS:

e WATERLINES TYPICALLY HAVE A
30-FOOT EASEMENT

APROVAL. IS UNAUTHORIZED.

SWIMMING POOLS:

¢ BUILDING PERMIT REQUIRED

e LANDOWNER RESPONSIBLE TO
INSURE THAT KINGBROOK IS .
NOTIFIED PRIOR TO ANY
CONSTRUCTION 605-983-5074 SOUTH DAKOTA ONE CALL:

FENCE RECOMMENDED

UTILITY

1-800-605-5279 LOCATES: 1-800-781-7474

INFORMATION REQUIRED TO OBTAIN A BUILDING PERMIT:
e NAME, ADDRESS, AND PHONE NUMBER.
¢ | EGAL DESCRIPTION OF THE PROPERTY WHERE BUILDING IS TO OCCUR.
(TOWNSHIP, SECTION NUMBER, LOCATION).
¢ DIMENSIONS OF STRUCTURE TO BE BUILT.
e FLOOR PLANS (FOR RESIDENCES ONLY).
e APPROXIMATE COST OF THE BUILDING (CONTRACTOR’S BID).
e DISTANCE FROM ROAD (SETBACKS SEE ABOVE).
e TYPE OF SEWER & WATER SYSTEM (IF APPLICABLE).
e TRUSS RAFTER DIAGRAM (40 # GROUND SNOWLOAD REQUIRED)
e FOUNDATION FORM (CAN BE PICKED UP IN OUR OFFICE).
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Wiring Permit Info - on back - Updated 3-10-2015
Plumbing Permit-Post Card Handout — Updated 12-20-2011
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SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRICAL COMMISSION

Homeowner Wiring

Homeowner Permit Application

20:44:14:01(12) defines an "owner's exemption" as an exemption from licensure requirements in South
Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) 36-16-13 for an individual owner who is personally installing electrical wiring
and fixtures in a residence or farmstead which is owned and resided in or on by the person installing the
electrical wiring or fixtures;

Homeowners are not required to be licensed to wire their own residence or farmstead which meet the
requirements of 20:44:14:01; however, a wiring permit is required. You may purchase a wiring permit from
the South Dakota Electrical Commission. (Note: Homeowners are not allowed to wire commercial or
rental property with a Homeowner's permit. Homeowners of a mobile home or modular home are not
allowed to wire these structures. These properties must be wired by a licensed South Dakota electrical
contractor.)

To obtain a Homeowner's Wiring Permit, mail a check for $60.00 [$10.00 permit fee with $50.00 minimum
inspection fee] (made payable to the South Dakota Electrical Commission) and submit with the
Homeowner Permit Application.

South Dakota Electrical Commission
308 S. Pierre Street
Pierre, SD 57501

The Commission will mail you a homeowner's packet when we receive your payment which includes:

* A permit
+ Homeowner's Wiring Booklet - includes a list of Inspectors per district.

Please contact your State Electrical Inspector for inspections two times during your project:

Rough-in - This is when you have all of the boxes mounted, all wires are installed to all of the boxes and
properly stapled, supported and exposed for inspection. (No insulation, drywall or other material covering
the wiring).

Final Inspection - Everything should be complete at this time. All light fixtures, receptacles, switches,
cover plates and other equipment such as water heaters, furnaces and other fixed in place equipment
should be installed and energized.

When nearing the rough-in or final inspection, call your inspector to set up a time for your inspection. It is
also very important to finalize the permit process, so PLEASE make sure you have a final inspection.
There is no law requiring a "Green (final) Sticker," yet many home inspectors are noting the lack of "Green
(final) Stickers" during home sale transactions.

For more information, call 800.233.7765 or 605.773.3573.

http://dlr.sd.gov/bdcomm/electric/echomeowner.aspx 3/10/2015



