County Commissioners

Larry Jensen, Chairperson
47685 209th Street
Aurora, SD 57002
(605) 592-6500

Kelly VanderWal, Vice Chairperson
106 Lincoln Lane
Volga, SD 57071
(605) 695-9983

Ryan Krogman
518 Powder Horn Pass
Brookings, SD 57006
(605) 695-2188

Mike Bartley
1929 25th Avenue
Brookings, SD 57006
(605) 691-9910

Shawn Hostler
513 Copper Mountain Circle
Brookings, SD 57006
(605) 695-0466

  • Typically first and third Tuesday of the month. To view when the commission is scheduled to meet please view the 2024 board calendar.
  • 8:30 a.m.
  • Brookings City & County Government Center
    520 3rd St
    Room 310, Chambers
    Brookings, SD 57006
  • Broadcast live on Swiftel channel 19, ITC channel 168, and
  • Rebroadcast Wednesdays at 7:00 PM and Saturdays at 10:00 AM
  • Links to videos of previous meetings are available at the Agenda Center

Agendas & Minutes

Most Recent Agenda | All Agendas
 If you wish to place an item on the County Commission meeting agenda, please contact the Commission Office at 605-696-8205, no later than noon the Wednesday prior to the next Tuesday commission meeting.


 View a list of Brookings County Officials and their terms.

Commissioner Responsibilities

  • Building and caring for county buildings
  • Hiring and setting policy for county employees and appointed department heads
  • Overseeing departments to ensure procedures are followed according to state law
  • Setting and administering the budget for all county departments
  • Brookings County Strategic Plan